Nebraska Wheat Board seeks candidates for board of directors vacancies

LINCOLN, NE – The directorship appointments for two of the Nebraska Wheat Board will expire June 30, 2024, and are seeking candidates to apply for those districts. The open positions are District 1 and District 6. 

District 1 – Includes the counties of Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Dawes, Box Butte, Morrill, Sheridan, and Garden. Bob Delsing, the current District 1 director, has indicated that he will not seek reappointment. 

District 6 – Includes the counties of Adams, Webster, Nuckolls, Thayer, Jefferson, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, Richardson, Otoe, Cass, Lancaster, Seward, York, Hamilton, Hall, Sherman, Howard, Merrick, Nance, Polk, Butler, Saunders, Sarpy, Douglas, Washington, Dodge, Colfax, Platte, Burt, Cuming, Stanton, Madison, Boone, Valley, Greeley, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Thurston, Dakota, Dixon, Cedar, Knox, Wheeler, Garfield, Loup, Blaine, Brown, Rock, Holt, Boyd, Keya Paha, Clay, Filmore, and Saline. Mark Knobel, the current District 6 director, has indicated that he will not seek reappointment. 

Qualified candidates include those who are citizens of Nebraska, are at least 21 years of age, have been actively engaged in growing wheat in Nebraska for a period of at least five years, reside in a county in the respective district for which the candidate is applying and derive a substantial portion of income from producing wheat. 

Appointments to the board for these districts are made by the Governor of Nebraska. Interested producers can complete the application online at or contact Pat Selk, Office of the Governor, at (402) 471-2256. 

The Nebraska Wheat Board administers the excise tax of 0.5% of net value of wheat marketed in Nebraska at the point of first sale. The board invests the funds in programs of international and domestic market development and improvement, policy development, research, promotion, and education.