Goshen labeled disaster area

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Goshen County is one of two counties in Wyoming recently designated as a primary natural disaster area due to the effects of ongoing drought.

The designation from the U.S. Department of Agriculture means producers in Goshen County, along with Sweetwater County, may be eligible for emergency loans from the USDA Farm Service Agency.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. 

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans: 

• Wyoming: Carbon, Fremont, Laramie, Lincoln, Niobrara, Platte, Sublette and Uinta

• Colorado: Moffat

• Nebraska: Banner, Scotts Bluff and Sioux

• Utah: Daggett and Summit

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is May 11, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. 

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers should contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.


Video News
More In Home